Homemade Gummy Worms

dirt

I have a few weaknesses. I can walk away from chocolate, cookies, cupcakes, donuts and cakes without any regrets. Place gummies in front of me and there will be no resisting. I love gummy animals, fruit snacks, sugar coated gummies and sour gummies. I don’t care what they are. If they’re unclaimed, they’re probably coming home with me.

Every Halloween I try to make something special. Considering my gummy passion, it made sense to try to create my own gummies. I found an easy recipe online for sugar free gummy worms. They’re ridiculously easy to make. You use sugar free Jello and extra gelatin. You can layer the flavors if you’d like. I decided to use orange and strawberry. You chill them and then slice them into thin worms.

I went the extra mile and created a dirt dessert I used to have as a kid. You mix chocolate pudding with your gummy worms and top with crumbled Oreos. You can add extra ingredients like whipped cream or coconut. The priority is to make it look like you’re scooping a mound of dirt into your bowl. It looks a little unappealing, but tastes delicious. Your kids will love it!

Overall, the gummy worms were really easy to make. It was nice to be able to control the ingredients. If I made them again I might use a different recipe that uses fruit juice instead of the Jello. I would highly recommend this as a great cooking project to do with kids. It’s very simple and can help make lots of Halloween memories in the kitchen.

gummy worms

Sugar Free Gummy Worms

Ingredients

  • 3 envelopes unflavored gelatin
  • 2 packages sugar-free Jello, any flavors
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 package Kool-Aid, any flavor (optional)

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients until dissolved.
  2. Pour into an 8×8” pan, lightly sprayed.
  3. Refrigerate until firm.
  4. Cut into “worm like” strips.
4 thoughts on “Homemade Gummy Worms

  1. What did they taste like? Was there a texture issue? Why fruit juice next time? Did you make them in straws? More details please! 🙂

    • They tasted like thick Jello. The texture wasn’t a problem. I didn’t use the straws so they didn’t look as cool as the store bought ones. I would consider doing that if I made them again.

      I would use the fruit juice next time to try a different flavor and to get away from any artificial flavoring from the Jello. This way I could create something truly unique for our Halloween treat and dirt dessert.

Leave a Reply

