Homemade Dragon Eggs

IMAG0961

Fall is in the air and I couldn’t be more thrilled! There’s something about the season’s sights, sounds and smells that make me feel warm and cozy.  Even though we’re in Florida, we still enjoy a variety of fall themed fun each year. We have to have some comfort foods and soups, cold apple cider, hot spiced cider or caramel apple spice, pumpkin flavored baked goods like pie or bread, a scary movie or creepy autumn tale like Sleepy Hollow, a special spooky treat and fall scented candles to tie it all together. Yes, in our home, fall is an experience!

For the next couple of weeks, I’m going to share some of my favorite magical fall treats. Earlier this year I threw a Harry Potter party weekend extravaganza for my husband. It was a ton of fun to plan and come up with all kinds of magically inspired recipes. All of these can be used for Halloween or anytime you get a craving for chocolate frogs.

Now, if you do your research for Harry Potter themed parties you’re going to find some cute decorations, games and lots of chocolate and sugary treats. However, no one ever created a magical meal. Being the Creative Campbell that I am, I had a lot of great ideas. My main priority was to make something special, but healthy. Yes, there would be chocolate and treats, but we couldn’t eat that all day.

Every great magical adventure should start with breakfast. Our weekend started with homemade Dragon Eggs. This is a spinoff of Scotch Eggs. Traditionally, Scotch Eggs are hard boiled eggs coated with ground beef and deep fried. Delicious, but horrible for you. Years ago I watched an episode of Food Network Star and one of the contestants made healthy Scotch Eggs. I’ve made my own adjustments to the recipe and it tastes amazing! I use ground turkey mixed with homemade pesto and sauté it. Trust me, they are filling and delicious. My favorite part about this recipe is that you can assemble the eggs ahead of time.

To make these eggs truly magical, I kept with my Harry Potter theme. If you’ll remember in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire the contestants had to face four dragons – the Hungarian Horntail, Swedish Short Snout, Common Welsh Green and Chinese Fireball. I used construction paper, printer paper (because my handwriting is horrible) and skewers. I typed the names of the dragons in a fun text, printed it, cut them out and glued them onto the construction paper. I cut and folded the construction paper and glued it onto my skewer to create a flag. After the Dragon Eggs were cooked, I put a flag in each of the eggs and served my dish. They looked amazing and tasted just as good!

IMAG0960

Homemade Dragon Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 4 large eggs (whole), 3 eggs (beaten)
  • 2 cups fresh basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 8 oz. ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • pinch of garlic salt

Place four whole eggs in a pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil and boil for ten minutes. Drain, rinse under cold water and peel. Set aside on a paper towel to absorb excess water.

In a food processor, combine basil, Parmesan, garlic cloves and 1/2 cup olive oil. Blend until smooth. In a mixing bowl, combine bread crumbs, flour, salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic salt, three beaten eggs, ground turkey, and basil pesto mixture.

Cover each egg with a 1/4 of the turkey mixture. Put in fridge overnight if needed. Saute in olive oil cooking around 3-4 minutes per side. Serve warm.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Dragon Eggs

  1. Pingback: The Best Harry Potter Party | Creative Campbell

Leave a Reply

