Worth it or Not – Homemade Pudding

pudding box

There are so many ways that people are trying to save money and be healthy. They are making their own jams, sauces and cake mixes. One of the things that perked my interest was homemade pudding. It seemed simple enough – milk, cornstarch, sugar and egg yokes. It’s hard to mess that up. We had some bananas that I wanted to toss in, so why not make some homemade banana pudding?

I’ve always made pudding from a box. It’s easy and reliable, but it has a few chemicals in it that aren’t the greatest for you. This homemade option was supposed to taste better and be better for you.

I definitely went through a slight trial and error with my homemade pudding. I had to cook it twice to get it to set properly. When it did become thick enough, it was too lumpy. This was probably because I wasn’t stirring it often enough. The problem was easily fixed by tossing it in the food processor. Overall, there are some simple changes I would make so I would get it right the first time.

Before deciding which was better, I wanted to compare the cost, time and flavor to the convenience of buying a box.

Cost for ingredients –

The dry ingredients I used cost less than the dollar I would have spent for the box. I did need two egg yokes and more milk which makes the homemade version more expensive, but you end up with a little more pudding. I’d say it’s pretty close, but the homemade version should be cheaper.

Cooking time –

You need more cooking time for the homemade version. If you have to heat up your boxed pudding, you bring it to a boil once and it sets. With the homemade option, you have to keep it on the verge of boiling until it completely thickens. There’s also a chance that it might not set the first time.

The Flavor –

The homemade version tastes so much better than the boxed option. You get the freedom to control your ingredients and know exactly what your family consuming. I also used ingredients I already had at home, which saves me an extra trip to the grocery store.

My conclusion –

Overall, I enjoyed the homemade pudding and it was a great alternative to the boxed option. Cooking it while I was working on something else was very easy. If I’m already going to be in the kitchen, I don’t see any reason I wouldn’t make it. If I have severe time constraints, I would buy the box as my backup. I’m sure the next time I make it I will avoid the same mistakes and it will take less time.

My favorite part about the homemade version: my husband loved it! He normally doesn’t like any of the cooked puddings and he said this homemade version blew all of the other boxed puddings out of the water. He is officially converted.

Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

pudding homemade

Vanilla Pudding
By Tonkcats on Food.com
– Updates to recipe provided by Creative Campbell

Ingredients:
½ cup sugar
¼ cup cornstarch + 2 tablespoons
2 ½ cups milk
½ teaspoon salt
2 egg yokes, slightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1.) In a medium double boiler on medium, cook sugar, cornstarch, milk and salt. Stirring often. DO NOT allow to boil.
2.) Temper your egg yokes – add a small amount of your pudding mixture to your egg yokes and stir. Add a little more of the mixture allowing your eggs to slowly warm up. Pour the egg yoke mixture into your pudding. This process keeps your eggs from curdling.
3.) Heat until it thickens to a pudding consistency, stirring often.
4.) Remove from the stove and add vanilla extract. Put through food processor if too lumpy.
5.) Chill for 2-3 hours.

Optional: Add bananas to create homemade banana pudding.

* If you don’t have a double boiler, simply put the pudding in a normal pot but stir it more often and keep a closer eye on it. 

5 thoughts on “Worth it or Not – Homemade Pudding

  1. Laura,
    I have made homemade chocolate pudding for many years. My husband liked it over white bread with a pat of butter on top. He called it chocolate gravy. It’s a southern thing.

  2. I just made homemade chocolate pudding for the first time and it was so good. Looking forward to trying this!

Leave a Reply

