The True Spirit of Christmas

The Christmas season is finally here! It’s the time for Christmas trees, beautiful lights, caroling, and presents. It’s also the time when weekends are booked, traffic gets backed up, the perfect gift is sold out and budgets become strained. Christmas is such a nostalgic time of the year and it’s also the most stressful. Why? Because we forget what the season is all about.

My favorite quote I try to remember most during the season is: “But I am sure I have always thought of Christmas … as a good time; a kind, forgiving, charitable, pleasant time: the only time I know of, in the long calendar year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely … And therefore, uncle, though it has never put a scrap of gold or silver in my pocket, I believe that it has done me good, and will do me good; and I say, ‘God bless it!’” Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol.

Christmas isn’t about the Black Friday sales or stuffing our faces with sweets. Christmas was meant to be that one time a year we step back and not only appreciate the many gifts that we have, but we share them with others. It’s so easy to forget that the gifts we have to share don’t have a price tag.

This December I have decided to take part in a 12 Days of Kindness challenge. For 12 days, I get to stop worrying about my To Do Lists and think of someone else. Whether it’s writing a thank you note to the fire department, baking Christmas cookies to give away, helping someone carry their groceries to the car, volunteering at a soup kitchen, or picking up trash on the sidewalk, every action – big or small – makes a difference.

I have gotten wrapped up in the chaos of Christmas too many times. This year, I want it to be different. Perhaps you feel the same way too. Would you be willing to join in? It’s simple. Here’s the website: 12 Days of Kindness. Anytime you take an extra moment to make a difference in someone’s life this Christmas season, tell us about it. We’ll share your story and help encourage others. You don’t have to wait until December. Make a difference today!

Think of the impact we could have. 10 people across the nation or around the world could change a season bombarded with selfishness. We could remind people that the true spirit of Christmas doesn’t fit under the tree. It’s a simple action we take to make a difference in a stranger’s life.

Merry Christmas Everyone!

6 thoughts on “The True Spirit of Christmas

  1. I think this is such a fantastic idea Laura! And also I wanted to put out there that if people are looking for one-time to reoccurring volunteer opportunities to check with their local hands-on or volunteer center. I know our area in particular has been filled up for holiday volunteering for some time so it’s also good to check with local churches and retirement communities. Sorry, the comment about soup kitchens reminded me of how quickly those opportunities fill up.

      • There’s always opportunities out there. It’s just learning to stop in the busy-ness of our days to the need in others. Not to mention we are taught so much anymore to mind our own business that we are often afraid to reach out to others.

  2. Pingback: The Highlights of 2012 | Creative Campbell

Leave a Reply

