Worth it or Not – Homemade Drano

I’m sure all of you understand the glories of clogged drains. My hair always manages to make a mess in the bathroom sink and especially in the tub. Once a year, it causes a problem and I shell out $5.00-10.00 for a bottle of Drano. All of those chemicals get to work and I can use my sink/shower once again.

I didn’t think twice about there being another alternative. That is, until I read Jillee’s blog One Good Thing. She recommended a simple solution of baking soda, vinegar and boiling water. This weekend, without fail, the tub decided to backup. My husband was skeptical of my homemade solution, but was willing to let me give it a try.

It worked like a dream! I poured about ½ a box of baking soda down the drain and poured about ½ cup of vinegar onto the baking soda. It started to bubble and fizz. This alone unclogged the drain. However, I wanted to finish the instructions so I boiled some water and poured it down the drain. Ta dah! The drain is officially unclogged!

The best part is that I used ingredients I already had around the house. I saved my $5.00-10.00 and it only took me 2 minutes of my time. That is definitely something I can handle!

Happy unclogging!

 

Update: I have used the homemade mixture 3 times on the tub drain. There is a huge improvement, but there is a slight delay in the drainage. I am fine with it, however I’m sure many of you would prefer that it is completely fixed. In this case, Drano would be required. The baking soda/vinegar won’t completely unclog your drain, but they take care of 90% of the problem.

11 thoughts on “Worth it or Not – Homemade Drano

    • That’s a really good idea. I did break down and buy a bottle of generic Drano. My husband wasn’t willing to withstand the lag in drainage. Next time though, I’ll give the washing soda and boiling water a try before giving up.

  1. I’ve been using this for years. It’s great!! I also put some tea tree oil in to help with the bacteria that would of been having a party in there. We are on a septic and try to be as environmentally friendly as possible, as well. For stubborn clogs add borax to your baking soda. 1 cup of baking soda, 1 cup of borax 12 drops of tea tree essential oil, vinegar till the fizz party is over and like you said, following with the boiling water helps to dissolve what is left of baking soda and borax in the drain.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

