Goodbye Sweet Memories

Before I even started my organizing, I knew there was one thing I had to do. I just wasn’t sure I was ready to donate my wedding dress. I was never one of those crazy wedding obsessed children who spent years planning their wedding before they even started dating. When my husband proposed it was one of the happiest days of my life. In all of the wedding planning chaos, the one thing I was the most excited about was the dress I had chosen.

Most of my youth was spent as a tomboy. I wore my jeans and tennis shoes everyday and enjoyed hiking, canoeing, shooting guns and any other adventure I could follow my brother on. As the years passed, I started to expand my preferences and wardrobe. I bought jeans that actually fit and clothes based on my body type. I learned which colors go well with my skin tone and started to let go of my ugly duckling stage.

By the time my husband met me, I still had little hints of tomboy left in me. I still wore my jeans and tennis shoes. I just paired it with a cute top instead. The more he pursued me, the more beautiful I felt. The more beautiful I felt, the more I was willing to wear something that made me feel beautiful on the outside too. When I picked my wedding dress it was the most beautiful dress I had ever owned. It reminded me of the classic Hollywood bombshell dresses. I couldn’t wait to see the look on my husband’s face on our wedding day. He’d seen me get dressed up, but never like this.

The look on his face was priceless. They say on your wedding day you’re supposed to look like a princess. I never really wanted to be a princess. However on our wedding day, I felt radiant. I was so happy thanks to the friends and family that helped make it so incredibly special. I look back at the wedding pictures and don’t see the ugly duckling I used to feel like. I see the woman I’ve become.

So why would I ever want to let go of such an important dress? Because I know my dress could make a difference in someone else’s life too. I wanted to donate it to Brides Against Breast Cancer – a non-profit organization that supports breast cancer educational and support programs that help the patients and families by selling gently used wedding dresses. Someone could buy my dress at a great price and support the needs of millions of women. How could I not donate my dress?

I have the pictures. I’m not going to wear the dress again and I wouldn’t expect my future daughter to wear it either. Part of the fun of being a new bride-to-be is wedding dress shopping. When you find the one, your heart soars just like mine did. My heart can soar without my dress hiding in the back corner of my closet.

A part of me doesn’t want to let it go and I know my husband would never be mad if I didn’t. I just know that I have to. Some other bride-to-be deserves to feel radiant too.

I was brave enough to pull my wedding dress out of my closet. It’s still just as beautiful as I remember it. I packed it up as delicately as I could and shipped it to Brides Against Breast Cancer today. It was like letting go of a best friend. I will always have the memories. I just hope the new owner appreciates it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

