Worth it or Not – Granola Bars

I am in the process of researching different breakfast possibilities. As always, I’m trying to find something nutritious, filling and inexpensive. Yes, I have considered eggs for breakfast. It’s by far the cheapest and most filling option. I’m always on the go in the mornings though. So, having something that I can grab and eat at my desk is my preference.

I normally eat some oatmeal, however two hours later I’m ravenous. The hungrier I am, the more likely I will nibble on many random bits of unhealthiness. So, I have been looking into alternatives. I found a great recipe for homemade granola bars. It uses mostly ingredients I already had at home. I modified the recipe slightly and LOVE it! The brilliance is that you can work with what you have in your pantry.

Making granola bars doesn’t take very long and they taste delicious. The first time I made these, mine were overcooked mostly because my oven tends to be overly opinionated. Ever since then, they have been soft and delicious and slightly crumbly. My husband loves them! They are the perfect, filling breakfast solution. My favorite part is that I make them ahead of time and am set for the week.

Onto the ultimate decision: is it worth it financially or not to make your own granola bars? I say it is definitely worth it! One box of granola bars is around $5.00 for 6-12 small bars that aren’t very filling. You can make an entire 9×13” pan of approximately 12 large granola bars for a lot less. The only things I had to purchase were oats and almonds. The oats cost $2.50 for a very large canister and around $5.00 for a pound of whole almonds. I use a small handfull of the almonds, break them up and save the rest for future recipes. I still save a lot of money using my own ingredients and actually feel full after I eat two bars. It’s a very nice change.

My alterations: I used Honey Nut Cheerios because that’s what we had instead of the Rice Krispies. I also put in a big scoop of peanut butter. I can’t help it. Peanut butter and chocolate are a perfect combination. I do like having the cup of almonds in the granola bars, however they are a slightly more expensive ingredient. This can be left out if you want to save a little more of your overall price.

 

Chewy Granola Bars

By Manda on food.com

Ingredients

    • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
    • 1/4-1/2 cup butter or 1/4-1/2 cup margarine, softened
    • 1/4 cup sugar
    • 2 tablespoons honey
    • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
    • 1 large eggs
    • 1 cup all-purpose flour
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 1 1/4 cups crisp rice cereal ( Rice Krispies)
    • 1 cup chopped almonds
    • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
    • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
    • raisins (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and lightly grease or spray 9 x 13 pan.
  2. In large bowl, beat brown sugar, sugar, and butter until light and fluffy.
  3. Blend in honey, vanilla and egg.
  4. In separate bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.
  5. Add flour mixture gradually to sugar mixture and beat until combined.
  6. By hand, stir in almonds, chocolate chips and oats until well mixed.
  7. Press mixture firmly in bottom of greased pan, and bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes, or until light golden brown.
  8. Cool and cut into squares.
2 thoughts on “Worth it or Not – Granola Bars

  1. Quick update: the recipe calls for 1/4-1/2 cup of butter. I would recommend 5-6 tablespoons. Anything less and your granola bars are too crumbly. Anything more and you’re just adding fat.
    * I’m also adding a generous scoop of peanut butter which might explain why the extra butter isn’t necessary.

Leave a Reply

